August 27, 2024 - 7:41:06 PM

Fall semester started and I am the opposite of excited.

On the bright side I got to see a lot of really cool people I haven't seen in all summer, but on the other hand I got to see a lot of not really cool people I haven't seen all summer.

I have a couple of online classes, because they worked better with my schedual, and there are a handful of girls from my highschool that do not like me and the feeling is mutual. They're kind of your steriotypical mean white girl, they all have bleached platinum blonde hair and they all play volleyball. One of the girls started a couple rumors about me and an ex-girlfriend being in a sex cult when we were in high school, so I don't care to be nice to any of them.

Anywho, the class starts and we do icebreakers or whatever, and they all say that this is their first zoom class, which is VERY apparent. They're all running around the room during class and accidentally unmuting and none of them have headphones or mics so everytime one of them unmutes it's this terrible echo.

But that's enough of being an asshole for today. I'm sure that they'll figure it out by the end of the semester, and maybe they've all changed since highschool. Who knows!

Anyways, the good knews of today! I friend of mine is finnally getting her license which is very cool. Very proud of her <3.

Most of my classes seem like their going to be pretty easy. The hardest part will proabably be schedualling and completing all of the homework on time. And staying focused, all of these classes are so boring.

My desktop PC is almost ready! I just need a wifi card and everything should work (plz plz plz). It doesn't get here until Saturaday though.

My chemistry class seems very chill. I was worried about it because I didn't actually take high school chemistry, but it looks pretty easy and the prof seems nice. Butttttttt, it's also with some of those girls from my highschool. Gross.


I recently started an audio book called "No Wall They Can Build" about the southern border crisis, and it's one of the best books I've read in a long time. I'm a white guy in Wisconsin, so I know very little about the Mexican border or central American politics and this book has been really eye opening. I mean, I knew the basic stuff, but little beyond the propaganda they push on the national news.

This book isn't super recent, I think it was published in like 2016, so I'm assuming a lot has changed since then. It's crazy to hear about the risks that people take to get to America, only for our border patrol policies to punch them in the face. And so much of the crisis is of our governments own creation. There are so many actions that our government could take to help people, but we don't.

This proabably sounds like "white person discovers oppression"

It's also made me realize I little I know about international politics. I know almost nothing about Mexican politics, and I don't think I could point out El Salvador on a map. Definetly need to learn a lot more about this topic.

My point is, I want to do something to help this issue, but I'm not really sure what that is. Other than like, donating money to people, what tangible actions can I take to improve this?

A topic that needs more research. I'll give more updates as I continue the book. If anyone has some recommendations of other books I should read about this, please let me know <3

Peace.